Thursday, September 29, 2011

4th of July - Shit Show Weekend

Before I get into the juicy details I wanted to give you guys the comical twist as to how Matthew and I exactly met...

Todd and I had made amends and we were trying to be civil at a mutual friends birthday party, well in my quest to come to a mutual standing with Todd we had hooked up, again - I'm a glutton for punishment. It was after that he went back to the "we can be together" nonsense. It had been over a month since we had hooked up and we were trying to be friends again, another bad idea. He ended up coming over before we went out and we had gotten into a fight because he wanted to revisit yet another painful convo about how we should be together. We had plans to meet up later on to go out with a bunch of people and head to the 51's game for $1 beer night, I had told Todd I wasn't going to go if he was going to be his usual dramatic self. He agreed that he could handle it for that night and that we should still all go. We get there and in the group it was me, 1 other chick and 3 guys (including Todd and my roomie). I hadn't known the chick very well at the time but her and I decided we were going to do the single girl thing and prowl the stadium... nothing serious, just looking. (We will call her Renee this is only due to my lack of creativity and the sole fact it's her middle name.) We sit back down with the guys who had been double fisting all night ($1 beer night has a rule that you can't buy more that 2 at a time per person) so rather than the guys be gentlemen those jerks decide to only get some for themselves and leave us girls, dry - not cool. She and I head up to the beer stand and she looks at her phone and then looks at me and says:
"We're meeting my friend Matthew here, let me know what you think of him"
My reply was very simple seeing as I had just fought with Todd not even 3 hours prior "Renee, Dude, Seriously... See that crazy person down there (pointing to Todd)? I don't need any additional headaches or crazy people! I'm sure he'll be cute, I'm just not interested"
She gives me a look and a smile "Okay, let me know if you change your mind..."
I just laugh at her and start drinking my beer. We head back down to our seats and we were having a competition within our group as to who can drink the most, after you were done drinking your beer you would keep the cup to make sure there was no cheating at the end we'd count up the cups to see who is victorious. This game sucked, Renee and I combine ours together to get the boys panties in a bunch which it did then I got tired of listening to them so I lit a cig and just as I was nearly finished with it, I was asked to put it out by a 12yr old girl... apparently, this is frowned upon, Oops! The boys and Renee make fun of me mercilessly for being called out by a kid and for being a complete idiot for smoking in a stadium. It was after this that Matthew, who was sitting adjacent to us, came over and sat behind us girls, we were sitting on the opposite side of the bench next to all the guys. Her and Matthew worked together so they were having a casual conversation and then Renee introduces him to me with a smirk on her face, I turn around to shake his hand and DAMN IT - he's absolutely beautiful - I'm not kidding and I wish I was. Immediately I know this is going to be a problem, I'm already curious about this tall, handsome, green eyed stranger, who is sitting right behind me. So, I do what the only thing I can at this point - I turn back around and pretend to be interested in the game and casually answer questions or laugh when I hear something funny - but that's IT! I barely turned around while he was there, however when we went got up to get more beers I'd eye fuck the shit out of him... This is me doing the best I could to restrain myself! Anyways, after the game we all get in the car and head back to Renee’s' house and its me, my roomie, Renee, her friend, and Todd is driving us all back, out of no where he gets super pissy and leaves when we arrive at her house because "no one is paying attention to him" - pathetic right? None of us care that he is leaving... it was too dramatic already. We had beers and stuff at her house so we continue to drink and I had no idea but Matthew was going over there too... so we're all a hot mess and keep drinking and having a good time, I have no clue what was said or done - I just know it was funny. After a few episodes of Tom & Jerry, me and the roomie leave and head home seeing as it's a Thursday night and we have work in the morning.

It's Friday before the 4th of July holiday weekend and I wake up not in it to win it AT ALL. I was dog/house sitting for Fitzy and Phil who were home, in NH, for a wedding. I get up, throw myself together, go to work, went to a few appointments, get through the last appointment and head back to Phil’s. The entire night before and today Todd was texting me and I hadn’t been responding to him because I had let him know we can not hang out at all because he can not deal with it or act normal. Since I’m in outside sales I am constantly on my phone checking fb, emails, agenda, etc. before I walk into my first appointment I look on fb and noticed I had a friend request, I check it and it's Matthew - great. What the hell do I do now? ....Accept friend request and start in with my witty sarcasm, of course! Right off the bat he answers me back and is just as sarcastic and witty as I am, at this point I'm completely intrigued as to why he is in Vegas. If you don't know Vegas then you have no idea what I mean... (But I hope this helps a bit) not that I was looking for anything, but it's nice to be wanted and to have normal conversations with normal people. To put it quite blank - the quality of people here is terrible, even if you're just looking for friendship. This is why I think I found him fascinating... he's good looking, funny, sarcastic, and down to earth - I had started to feel people like this had not existed in Vegas and he and I even shared the same feelings on this theory. Our ridiculous convo continues all day and it was wrapped up by him saying "ok Poindexter. What’s your number, I'll shoot you a text when I'm done being awesome" and my reply was "Ha... That would mean you would have had to start" and gave him my #. I happened to post on fb earlier that day that I wanted to see "Bad Teacher" and asked who would like to join me. There were a few people who said they'd go and then later on bailed out. Which wasn't that big of a deal because I had told the roomie I'd chill with him and he could just come over to Fitzys and I'd cook dinner and we'd just veg out. After the roomie and I ate dinner I get a text from Matthew and the convo went something along the lines of:
"What time you going to the movie?"
I replied "Not tonight, everyone bailed"
"Still wanna go?"
Ummm YEA, I do...
He and I finished up discussing times and meet up spots and I had kicked out the roomie so I could start getting ready. All the while Todd had been texting me like a maniac and I had still not been replying to him.

Hold on tight for what’s about to come... this shit spirals out of control.... 

**Before I continue you need to know the reason why Todd was so over the top this weekend... There was a guy in town that same weekend that he knew I had history with and he thought I was going to go see him. Which per our conversations, I can do whatever I want and hold no commitment to him.

After I'm done getting ready and trying to look hot, trust me, this take a lot of work! Matthew is on the way and not only comes to pick me up, but comes to the door and comes in for a minute to meet the "Woof Pack" (the dogs). Can you say "Major brownie points!"? He waits around for me to finish putting away some stuff and we head out to the movie at the Red Rock Casino. My phone continues to blow up with calls and texts from Todd - it is past 11:00pm when we get there, so I turn my ringer completely off - not even vibrate. During the movie Matthew is making jokes in my ear about how I'm like one of the characters on the movie... she happens to be the overweight, pathetic, socially awkward, push over friend - I am not offended in the slightest -I actually have a sense of humor. He got his balls busted right back about some dorky characters I said he'd resembled or I said he'd totally be into the characters he had said I'd resembled. Even in a movie, we had a really good time and I'm sure we made a few people mad due to the whispering and additional laughter not caused by the movie. The movie is finally over, and I can barely remember what it's about, I was just enjoying the company. We split to use the restrooms and I check my phone (hey, it's not technically considered using your phone on a date if you check it when the other person isn't there, right?) and I see, mind you this is only a 3 hour period from the last time I checked my phone, 4 missed calls and 6 texts from Todd. Oh brother, what a total freak show. I never answered any of these calls or texts because I didn't want to and it's about 2 am for all he knows I could be sleeping and I told that fool we weren't hanging out at all anymore because he doesn't know how to act, obviously.

Matthew and I meet back up and he asks what I feel like doing - going back home, drinks, etc. I opted for drinks just so I wouldn't be as nervous as I was. Generally I'm not a shy or nervous person but since he was the closest thing to normal I'd experienced in Vegas I didn't want to come off as the weird one and scare him off. He asks if I have a preference as to where we go, I don't, so he comes up with a place and we start driving there. The place he decided to go to was about 10 or 15mins down the road so we continue having casual conversation until we pull in and park. Before I open the door to get out I look at him, he's grinning and he says "I hope you're prepared to get your ass kicked" I'm pretty thrown off by this then he says in reply to my puzzled look "Shuffleboard, that's why we came here" I laugh and start talking shit as we head inside. We sit down at the bar and I order 2 beers and 2 shots of jamo... it's time to test the waters with this guy. We ended up having to wait a little bit for one of the tables to clear so we do our shots and start talking about random things, until we land on a topic we could not stop talking about... crazy people/dating in Vegas. This delights me; I have at least a dozen stories that were awful. He and I had so many really funny horror stories, we were laughing, comparing and trying to "one up" the other persons crazy date with another story of our own. Considering I have Todd wrapped up in these stories, I felt like I had won this "crazy person battle". By the end of this convo we came to the decision that we were not going to call what we were doing a "first date" because they never go right after that. The table finally opens up and he and I continue drinking shots, beers and having good time. We get though one game and he wins. We start another game and these 2 chicks who were playing pool at the table next to us come up and start telling us how cute we are and asked how long we'd been in a relationship, I look at the chicks and then at Matthew, laugh and say "I'll let you take this one..." and go back to taking my turn. He laughs looks at his watch and then back at the chicks and says "Well... about 5-6 hours". Of course they think we're kidding and I had reassured them that we have in fact only known each other for about 6 hrs. At some point we had kissed in the middle of all this - I'm not one of those girls who remember things like date, time, what we were wearing, and what song was playing in the background, etc. that's not me. What I can tell you is it was a perfect balance between soft, passionate, and all in all one of those kisses you think to yourself "WOW" but I spend the entire time trying to figure out what's wrong with this guy? This throws me for even more of a loop. He and I continued playing a few more games while we were still chatting and flirting, I hadn't had this much fun with a guy I'd been attracted to in a very long time - it was a strange feeling. It's either a really good looking guy that you just can't stand because he's wearing his Ed Hardy tee talking like a douche or a guy who you immediately stick into friend zone. We finished up our last game and round, as much as I hate to admit it, he was totally right... He whooped my ass in shuffleboard - bad. I use the ladies room prior to leaving, it's only a 15-20min drive but I have a toddler size bladder, I look at my phone for the first time after the movie and I have at least 2 missed calls from Todd every hour on the hour accompanied by texts as well... Fucking nut case. I'm feeling a bit uneasy now wondering why he's acting like a psychopath but chose to deal with it later. Matthew and I walk out to the car and discover its past 5:30am and we concur that we both, obviously, had a really great time tonight. We get 2 blocks away from Fitzy & Phil’s house and I start feeling uneasy, he takes the first right and before he takes the second right on to their street I ask him to slow down and I looked up and down the street making sure Todd didn't make an unexpected visit, his car is no where in sight and I feel like I'm just being paranoid because of the fact the calls had stopped. (This is another story, but Todd's been known to "just stop by" at all different hours in the day.) We pulled in to the driveway; I asked if he wanted to come in for a night cap... no funny business here! Just a night cap! We walked in; I locked the door (still feeling paranoid), grabbed a cig and walked out to the back yard. I hadn't smoked because it was a date and I don't need a cig every couple hours and to be completely honest I left them home because I knew Matthew didn't smoke but after a few cocktails, I wanted one. Bad. In a hurry to smoke I don't even recall letting out the Woof Pack and I certainly remember not grabbing a beer for either of us. I light up and he and I continue our awesome "date"... Then I saw it...

Board shorts through the sliding glass door. Here. We. Go.

Matthew looks at me and I'm assuming by the puzzled look and the apparent lack of pigment in my face he knew what I was looking at... the door is flung open and hits with a loud "crack" and "bang". After that I wish I knew exactly how it went, and I'll do my best but he had such a surprise factor that I may miss some detail. I remember him screaming and yelling asking "Who's this guy?!?" I'm so fucking pissed at this time I remember distinctly how hot my face was and I was yelling in his face telling him to leave and get out, I'm sure I said "Psycho" at least 100 times. I asked him why he was even there and his weak ass reason was "I was coming over to be nice, and cuddle and make you breakfast" I laugh in his face, I've never really been the type of girl that enjoys someone breaking in and snuggle raping me, not only can he NOT cook but he showed up drugged out and drunk with no breakfast foods - kinda hard to make breakfast without ingredients, don't ya think? This blatant lie makes my blood boil even more I'm still yelling and I say "You fucking lunatic-psychopath, how did you get in?? You fucking broke in! Now you need to leave!!" this does not even faze him. Whatever I had said triggered a macho show down, Todd was telling Matthew to leave first, then he'd go and to stop starring at him (which is obviously hard to do after this scene ...at 6:30am). Matthew handled it almost too well... didn't raise his voice or lose his cool. He's a better man then I could have been had the roles been reversed, I'm impressed even in all my furry. I walk away and stand in the door way and say through my teeth "Hey, mind if I talk to you in here for a moment?" dumb ass actually listens and walks through the door, I slam it closed and I'm in his face telling him to "Get out!!" he obviously didn't realize that this was his final warning. I balled my hands up into a fist and punched him in the face - 2ce - one blow after another, he's stunned and I scream again "GET THE FUCK OUT!" and head back outside to do some serious damage control. I walk outside and sure enough Todd is right behind me continuing to scream and yell. He even has the audacity to sit back down and start all over again with the macho bullshit. Matthew has finally had enough; while still staying collected he gets up and leaves with out a word. This. Is. Bullshit. I finally meet a nice, good looking guy who I get along with and has a similar personality and my impeccable timing and terrible decisions leave me outside in the back yard fighting with a coked out bald guy...at 7am. I call Matthew a couple times after he was gone and left a voice mail because I was trying to explain myself - he didn't answer but really, could you blame him? I couldn't. All the while Todd is still carrying on and says "How do you think RENEE would feel about you dating her friend?" I did not bring up the fact that she had suggested it. Then he starts calling her and leaving her voice mails telling her all about it. In my drunken state I go to the bathroom and lock the door and I too call Renee and leave her a voice mail giving her the gist and let her know not to answer her phone. Once I'm done with my message I storm out of the bathroom and charge right for Todd, punch him in the face again while insisting to get out or I would not only call the cops but a restraining order would also be issued. At last, Todd had admitted defeat and left slamming the door so hard behind him that the picture frames on the wall rattled.

I pass out for a couple of hours and woke up before noon and ready to aggressively start drinking my feelings away. My day starts by a friend calling and asking if I wanted to go get sushi with her - no, not really - but I need to vent out this whole situation and they serve booze, right? I'm in. I get to the spot before her and I sit down at the sushi bar and only order a beer and large hot sake - no food. She arrives and orders food while I'm complaining and carrying on about how my awesome night gone terribly-terribly wrong, ate like a bird, drank like a fish and then we parted ways. I get back to Fitzy’s and I send the roomies a text to come over and as I put it "aggressively hate drink" with me, but they had strict instructions to call me prior to coming, other wise they were not going to be let in. I had that place locked down like Fort Knox, spare key was no longer left outside, all the sliding glass doors were jammed up with broom sticks and I kept most of the lights off at night - I was freaked the fuck out that this lunatic had broken in and there really wasn't anything from stopping him from doing it again. I'm outside sitting by the pool polishing off my 5th "Crazy Mary" (Pint glass full of ice, 60% citron vodka, slash of sour, splash of water) when they arrived, I didn't say much, just fixed them up a cocktail and we went back poolside.  I had invited over another acquaintance as well and she was also on the way. I had filled the boys in on what had transpired the night before prior to my other guest arriving and as sad as it sounds they weren't too surprised at what Todd had done. My other guest arrived and all 3 of them had been filled in on my mission for the day... Drink until I couldn't feel feelings anymore. After at least 5 more crazy Mary's and shots to boot... mission complete, I passed out on all of them by like 9 and I heard them leave at 9:30ish, I got up and locked the door behind them, checked the windows, sliding glass doors, turned off all unnecessary lights and went back to bed.

I woke up early Sunday morning and was still completely beside myself. I couldn't stop replaying Friday/Saturday morning in my head. This is when I decided I need to drink more - apparently yesterdays therapy hadn't worked as well as I hoped it would. I ended up running out of booze at some point mid day and was too busy feeling like a sorry ass to collect myself and head to the store. I had called the roomies to bring more beer and to come over and keep me company. After waiting for those guys for a few hours with no distractions or booze, I can't help but think about different scenarios and how it could have been so different. By this time I'd been staring at my phone for almost a day and a half waiting to see if I'd ever get that call back... nope. I couldn't take it anymore I'm not one to sit around and wait for anything, and if Matthew wasn't going to talk to me ever again I wanted to know right then and there, rather than waiting to see if he'd ever forget the worst night of his dating life. I take out my phone and sent a text that said "Any chance I can get a rematch?". Yes, I was trying to be both witty and cute, I'm not sure exactly what happened... it could be because he's just as mentally deranged as me and likes to play with fire, or maybe I am just that awesome (the first is way more likely) but he texted me back... It may have been a slight jab - but hey, it was a start. We send a few texts back and forth and I ask if he'd meet me somewhere because he obviously needed some explanation as to why I had walked him into a buzz saw. We agreed to meet at a bar right around the corner from Phil’s, I throw myself together and walk over. I get there a few minutes earlier than him, I sit down at the bar order a shot and a beer... I needed to be clear headed. He walks in and sees me and heads over my way, I have a smirk on my face the entire time, not because I thought anything was funny just for the simple fact he had actually shown up. I get him a drink and we get right into the whole sch-bang, I explain in the simplest way the story behind me and Todd, he'd ask questions and I answered them all, as much as I didn't want to. He was owed an explanation however bringing up exes or hook ups or whatever is always unconformable - this was much worse. We hashed it all out and its sill not the best but at least I had a chance to explain myself. He and I were now kinda laughing about the whole ordeal and bring up the crazy coincidence that we had talked about our horror dating stories... I'm not sure if I'll ever forget what he said next "Remember the story I told you about the worst date I've ever had? Well, you've just moved up to the #1 spot" OUCH! I deserved that... I deserved that, and it's true, that was the craziest date I've ever been a part of as well. I retaliated with the most clever line I could muster "If yer not first, yer last" and went on to tell him at least I'm memorable even if it's for the worst possible reason. From my recollection I believe there was more shuffleboard involved and I had won this time around. Then the night had come to an end and I had let him know I'd be taking off and walking back, he was being a stubborn ass and protested that he would drive. We pulled up to the house, he parked and we made out like high school kids out in front of their parents house then parted ways for the night.

Today, Monday was 4th of July. One of my favorite holidays, I like the fact that it's an under played holiday therefore the usual holiday debauchery doesn't happen (family fights, everyone bitching and moaning about whatever) and I LOVE fireworks. Matthew sends me a last minute text (as he so frequently does) to go out with him and watch fireworks! I was asked by some other friends to go to a mansion party with them OR I could go chill and watch fireworks - I'll take the second one! I forget what time Matthew came over but I'm sure we were running a bit behind schedule because I remember; we left in a hurry knowing that parking was also going to be a bitch. We head over to the Red Rock Casino and it's packed, parking wasn't as much trouble as we thought but we did have to walk a bit. Before heading to the parking lot we grab some beer and find a place to sit, my place of choice was on a curb in the middle/right side of the parking lot. He and I sit down crack a beer watch the fireworks and before our first beer is even done - the show is over... I was pretty disappointed, not gonna lie, but fuck it, why waste the night? Matthew kept asking what I wanted to do with the rest of the evening and I had let him know drinking beer in a parking lot is just fine with me, at this statement he laughs and says he's never met such a weird chick who can or would want to just chill where ever, like in a parking lot and be cool with it. What can I say - I like to make my own fun. We finish off the beers while we conversed about how the fireworks were better in NY, cracking jokes on each other and whatever else came to mind. We walk back to the car and drive back to the house, he comes in for a while (despite his reservations) it got pretty late and we had work in the morning so we called it a night and he headed home.

All in all I'd like to say this was a pretty good weekend, and as scared as I was on Saturday morning... it was a good story and it taught me a lot: never hook up with crazy people, when on a date and someone calls you 20+ times - it might be smart to fix the problem then and there, always know when a crazy person is on the loose and where the spare key is at all times! Even still to this day Matthew and I refer to our first date as "The day we don't speak of" no matter how great it was in the beginning... the end did major damage!

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

It's Time For You To Meet "Tard/Todd"

I know, I look like a hot mess and may resemble Olive Oil off of Popeye... Shut it!



PS. I'm not sure why YouTube hates me and always shows a dumb face I'm making... but enjoy



Monday, September 26, 2011

Last Weekend "Damn... I Suck"

Last weekend/week has been pretty crazy and I didn't need anymore stress so that's why there haven't been posts for the past week. My best friends in the whole wide world moved to NY officially last weekend, I've had friends in town and I'm moving as well... So I have shit going on I'm not just being a lazy ass!

My best friends happen to be a couple; the guy bestie left a week prior than his fiancee but before they left we had a killer party at VooDoo and celebrated getting older, great friendships and moving up in the world. (Of course there is a longer version of this shit show of a night, but too many characters have to be explained... be patent!) Sunday after the party my guy bestie, which we will call "Phil" (this is his drunken/blacked out alter ego that was established prior to me knowing him, either way - I dig it) took his flight and left to go to NY. I cried, as happy as I am, it's bittersweet. His fiancees' flight was last week on Sunday, we will call her "Fitzy" (this is again an alter ego established prior to me and you guessed it - I still dig it). Fitzy and I had more time to party before she left, we went out to a friends house for dinner on Monday, Thursday went to B-dubbs with a couple of other girls and the jamo was flowing... I'll take only 98% of the blame. Needless to say we were super drunk and I had been the person who drove everyone. Thank god my roomies called and wanted me to put in a order of wings and they would come pick it up, perfect!! My roomie got the pleasure of driving all of us drunk fools back to Fitzy house. I wake up late on Friday and was suppose to hit the road to go to UT to see one of my clients but completely forgot that my roomie had my car. I call him and he's in a meeting... hmm... not much else I can do at this point. So I decided since I was already late I'd bullshit with Fitzy and enlighten her on more stories that make me - me. She was somewhat horrified a bit, doesn't judge, but actually complements me saying I'm one of the best at handling adversity. Roomie comes and gives me my car and I finally get on the road and head to UT. This is how I arrived at "Canyon Rant". After work I finish up some final touches on Canyon Rant, got dressed and headed back over to Fitzys'. She wants to go out and dance at Blue Martini like we did the weekend prior and we actually had a pretty good time there. Didn't have any random guys trying to grind on us or have any stage 5's following us all over. Being stuck in a town full of meat head, industry douche bags that think they can dry hump you on the dance floor, being left alone - this never happens.

To say the least, this chick is never on time for anything! I don't mind anymore because I always tack on at least an hour to whatever time she wants to meet up or leave or whatever. I get there and she's sitting at the computer finishing up this incredibly sweet video made up of pics of me, her and Phil, the good times we've had and songs we all love in the background. It's about 10:30pm at this point and she was trying to upload her video to fb but it kept giving her error messages so this goes on for another half hour until she admits defeat and goes and starts getting ready. In the mean time this guy I've been seeing (or whatever... I don't know the difference between all of that shit... "Dating" "Seeing" "Going out" so fill me in) calls and is in a bad/weird mood and wants to drink. Heavily. We will call him "Matthew" solely due to the fact he looks very much like Matthew McConaughey, I wish I was kidding. I told him I would swing by and grab him when Fitzy was all ready, it's now approaching 11:30. By the time we search for keys, cards, and give ourselves a once over - it's 11:45 and we head to Matthews house. Drive down to Blue Martini, find a parking spot, fuck with the door men that I joked around with the week before, find a spot at the bar, order a beer and a shot, and consume - it's now 12:30ish. The night set up pretty well... drinks and dancing! Matthew was dealing with some of his own problems (which you will hear more about) so he was not socializing with us and that in turn pissed Fitzy off because she feels it's bringing down the mood... it may have slightly. We decided it was time to go, the music wasn't as good as last week anyways; at this time it's like 3:30am. I plan on driving back to Fitzys' house because I have to catch a flight at 8am to visit my girls in Salt Lake City. Fitzy grabs one ride and Matthew and I grab another and we head to his house, he and I start having a discussion about our situation and whatnot so I continue driving just because I hate hate hate having serious conversations, as much as it needed to happen, I like still having the option of being distracted. This conversation lasts about another hour and we finally decide it's time for Matthew to go home and for me to go to Fitzys' and sleep. However with the short drive that turned long I had to pee and lets just say I didn't end up meeting back up at Fitzys' house. Instead...
        Saturday night wasn't anything crazy me, Fitzy and the roomies just hung out at the house for a bit, went and got sushi - sake and Sapporo's (yum), grabbed more beer and booze and kept the party going till we all passed out. Waking up Sunday was terrible though... Fitzy was going to be gone on later on that day too. This sucks... but it was game face time, literally...
The Rest of the day pretty much played out as follows:
Whiskey Shot
Whiskey Shot
Beer
Whiskey Shot
Beer
Fitzys' final goodbye Vegas
Whiskey Shot
Whiskey shot
Beer
Bed
Yea... But the Bills were 2-0 at this point... it was a weird day...

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Canyon Rant

Today has been pretty annoying. My Best friends in the whole wide world are officially moving to NY and will be gone by Sunday. I am going to UT this weekend (which I'm still excited about) but today I've been pretty sad about the situation. So instead of writing a blog I did a few video rants becasue I was so pissed off today because of The Ex...

I'm sorry for all the swearing but he was on some bullshit today!
And then Traffic!

Thursday, September 15, 2011

I Ran Into The Screen Door... Twice!

It might be hard to top "Death By Potato" but I wanted to tell you about my day today because I'm in crunch time to write a post and the other stories are too long.

My day started with waking up at 7am when I went to bed at about 4:30ish am, after I made my 10min video rant. You all should know I live with 2 guys (just friends) for time sake we will call them "The Roomies". They own a giant chocolate lab (Cooper - a.k.a Goofy, Coopie, Coop-a-loop) and I own 2 pit bulls, one boy (Jameson - a.k.a Jamo, LoverBoy, Handsome Face) and a girl (Bailey - a.k.a Little B, B-Unit, Bold Girl). When I get up I always let the dogs out first, it happened to be raining so they all just stare at me when I'm trying to coax them out the door - they ain't having it. I left the door open in case they changed their minds and started getting ready to take Jamo to the vet because he had this huge lump on his shoulder and I had no clue what it was. I brush my teeth and I walked out the door with Jamo. I come back and try and let the dogs out again, they still don't want anything to do with it. I hop in the shower wicked quick, throw my hair up and body shower and shave (Girls - I'm sure you're with me on this one) because I had a meeting I had to be at in 45mins and it took 30mins to get there. I'm in the shower maybe MAYBE 7mins, I walk into the living room to grab my phone and I do my morning routine, check emails, text messages, facebook, words with friends - all of this takes me no time at all because I don't ever reply until later in the day unless it's super important. I turn the corner to see dick bag Goofy eating the arm of the couch! I start yelling at him and I look down and realize that Goofy and Little B have mud on their paws, obviously since it's raining I didn't think much of it. I head back to the bathroom to paint my face - this is only another minute, I don't try very hard at all. I go in to the kitchen and don't you know those 2 muddied paw assholes are digging another hole in the yard (we live in Vegas, it's all gravel on top of dirt to make it pretty) this is not the type of yard that would seem enjoyable to dig in, no grass or anything - still they are relentless with this shit. I start yelling again, something along the lines of "You fucking assholes! Can you give me a break this morning?!? BAD PUPPIES!!". At this point I was suppose to leave like 5mins ago, but these jerks are covered in mud so I grab the hose and turn it on to spray off their feet - completely forgetting one of those jerks bit a huge hole in it and it is spraying all over me. I start screaming and yelling all sorts of obscenities put the 2 demons in the crate and head off to my appointment - wet.

Appointment went well, didn't close the deal, but have them rescheduled for Tuesday. I head to my old house because I'm still in the process of moving my stuff and I had to feed my 2 cats, both girls, Stinky and Bear. I get there and there is cat throw up everywhere - of course there is. I start cleaning that and decide I'm not wasting a trip 45mins across town without grabbing some stuff. Before I do anything I turn off the AC (because I'm sick of paying a bazillion $ for an apartment I don't stay at) and start opening up the windows and doors. I packed up a couple closets and the pantry and I have a dog crate there as well that the Roomies wanted me to grab. I pull all of the blankets out and they smell and need to be washed before they anywhere near my new car. I walk out to the living room because for some strange reason my washer and dryer are outside my sliding glass door on the porch. As I'm walking to head out the door my phone starts ringing and it's located behind me in the kitchen, I turn my head to see if I knew who was calling (by the picture) and BOOM - walked right into the screen. I kinda laugh about it for a second and open the door, turn around and head back to my phone. I check out who's calling and it happened to be a customer, I called him back and head back towards the washer... I trip over the damn track and stub my toe, this is not funny anymore. I pack up a few more things as the washer is loading and then go and grab the smelly blankets when I hear the 'Click' indicating that the water is ready to go. Grab the 5 or so blankets and had them wadded up in front of me, I could have sworn I left the door open, apparently not... I completely demolish the screen this time - it is no longer on the hinges at all. I know what you are thinking "Dumb Ass!" yea, I know!

I packed up my car with a few bags, a box and suit case full of random shit. Getting completely filthy in the process which didn't make sense so I look at my car and I have greasy black chunks of stuff all over it. Whatever, no big deal I'll clean up when I get back to the new house. I got to the house unpacked everything I brought and cleaned all the black shit off me and I'm dying of thirst! I reach into the fridge for anything cold and pull out one of those Tupperware containers for juice. It's red, I'm assuming raspberry something, I push down on the little plastic stopper thingy and red juice squirts all up in my eye. It didn't sting so I didn't think about it just wiped my face and finished my drink.

I have to run over to a friends house to grab something that needs to be shipped (this is what I do for a living & I said I'd help her out). Chat with her for a few minutes and it's now 4:10ish and I have to get back to the office because the shipment needs to be delivered tomorrow and I was already cutting it close and might miss the pick up for UPS. I look in the mirror while I'm sitting in traffic mainly to make sure there isn't anything in my teeth (I'm really weird about that) and notice little red spots around my eye. If any of you ever drank kool-aid or crystal light or anything thats red for that matter, that shit stains! I tried to get it off but I just ended up making my entire eye red from rubbing it, I don't care. I finally get back to the office and sure as shit, missed the pick up. That's not a big deal though because 2 buildings down from my office they have a pick up at 5pm, all I have to do first is make my car payment because it's due today. I hadn't been at the office all day due to Jamo's vet appointment and me working in the field prior to packing. I go in turn on my computer it's probably around 4:45 and the screen turns on saying "Windows Shutting Down" - I JUST turned the damn thing on! I go to the kitchen and make myself a cup of coffee (I haven't had caffeine in over a week - I needed it) come back and the damn computer is saying the same thing. We have one other open computer in the office, I boot it up and everything seems to be ok, mind you it's 4:55pm at this time. I click the Internet tab and watch it warm up displaying nothing but "Internet unable to connect to server" I get out of that and open a new page and it's the same story - fannnntastic! We'll now it's 4:59 I run downstairs with both package and coffee in hand. Since I'm making haste, coffee is spilling all down me - I do not care that it is burning the shit out of my hand, I'll be damned if I miss another pick up. Fly across the parking lot 2 buildings down and YES! Made the pick up.

That may be the smallest victory ever, but shit at least I got one! Do not be miss lead by this chain of events, today was not by any means a bad day. Today was only one of those WTF kinda days. The night is still young, I still have to attend dinner and drinks with a few "Characters" tonight. Who knows, the night may get crazy and you may meet them sooner than expected!

                                  Left to Right: Cooper, Jameson, Bailey

Writers Block Already

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Intro/Death By Potato

"The Ex" NY
These next few are going to be a bit longer then usual, due to the amount of back up story that needs to be shared.

Before I get to the good stuff you all need to understand the dynamic of me and my long term ex boyfriend. To keep it simple we will refer to his as "The Ex" and as pathetic as it sounds I have not had a boyfriend since, there's been a couple guys, but those are both a different story.

The Ex and I had got together when we were kids, we met when I was 14 working at BK and he always came in with a bunch of kids I went to school with after playing football or whatnot. He didn't go to the same school as me and all of our friends, he went to a private school because he got a scholarship to an all boys military school. He was really shy in the begining and for those who know me know that I do not know the meaning of the word - never have. I liked though, he let me take center stage in all of our conversations. He thought I was not only the nicest person he'd ever met but he found me hilarious too... I'm only one of those 2 things now - you can pick which one you prefer.

Wasn't until the year after we origionally met that we became high school sweethearts, it couldn't have been better, I was a cheerleader and he played football. We went to the same parties and could hang with the best of em'.  After a while we ended up doing the usual couple thing and hanging out all the time but like everything things changed. He started acting like a sketch ball and would invite me over only to leave me hanging with his dad or whatever. I'm not that kinda girl, needless to say we broke up, we'll save those exact details for another story as well.

We ended up getting back together a year later after we graduated. Things we're back to normal, our typical thing, being awesome and having fun. Things that had transpired the year previous made the need to get out of my parents house a necessity. Well, I made a HUGE mistake! I asked if he wanted to get an apartment together and do our own thing. I thought "What could it hurt? We already spend the majority of our time together... this is a no brainer". We moved into an apartment building and little did we know that the previous owner (8 floors, 4 apartments per floor) only rented to senior citizens, up until the new owner purchased it that year. We were the first tenants to move in not attached to an oxygen tank. I made friends with Ted and Mary (real names, I highly doubt they mind) who always sat in the lobby right as you walked in. To say it was all bad would be a lie, we had some great times, we learned how to be adults together. At the time I worked at my friends' dads' bar 3-4 days a week the rest of the time was spent doing crazy shit and having a good time.
The name of her dads bar was Deacons', it also happened to be his nickname as well, so that's what we will call her.

Mean while, The Ex worked at a bank and fucking hated it! He really hated the fact I made hand over fist what he made and yet he was busting his balls and I was having play time with my friends both in and out of work. He was to the point he was a grumpy ass when he got home and found every single little thing to pick a fight over. I knew me making more money and having more free time bothered him and even though it was not my fault I still felt bad for him. So for awhile I tried to coddle his hurt feelings and did a couple extra things around the house, like the laundry, dishes, cleaning, dinner (which isn't much of a chore because I actually enjoy it) and before we get on some crazy assumption that I did everything - I didn't. I just happened to do it more often.

One day in the summer, I only remember the season because me and Deacon would always play tennis after a few smokes and coffee, what we liked to call "breakfast of champions". Her and I were out and about all day and since she dated a total loser control freak (yes, he will be in a future story or 2, but thankfully she pulled her head out of her ass and dumped him) we were probably over at his house waiting for him to get out of work. The Ex got out of work like an hour or so after, so she dropped me off and I stayed and chatted it up with Ted and Mary for a few minutes. Went upstairs and then started cooking dinner, for as long as I live I'll never forget that dinner: baked potatoes, white corn, and chicken. Like any person who's cooked a meal, potatoes go in first and then everything else gets prep'edyadda, yadda, yadda. Throwing shit everywhere, clothes, laundry basket, hangers... I'm honestly thinking "I'm not cleaning that shit up, go ahead and throw what ever you want around. What do I care?". Well, as I'm thinking all of this I can't help but laugh especially considering this shit show of a scene that is unfolding before me, completely out of the blue. This pisses him off even more as you can imagine and I'm not sure what triggered this particular response but he goes over to the CD case and takes out my favorite CD (Hootie) and wings it across the room as it shatters into tiny little pieces. In the midst of all this lets not forget he's yelling about how I "don't do shit" because on my day off I decided to do what I wanted and not the laundry. The fact that he took something that I loved and ruined it, flipped my switch from "this is kinda entertaining" to "You mother fucker!". I've been standing in the kitchen for almost the entire time this is going on, minus the brief moment where I went to investigate the horrible thing that was done to Hootie. At this moment I am enraged to the point I had done something I had never done before (nor have I done something close ever since)...

I reached my bare hands into a 400 degree oven and pulled out 1 of the 4 baking potatoes, cock my arm back like I am Justin Verlander (pitcher for the Detroit Tigers), and I am literally throwing heat. If you only could picture this scene: I'm yelling and screaming like a damn lunatic, that he's an ungrateful asshole and if I don't do anything then it'd be a cold day in hell he'd get a meal from me, as I'm holding a 400 degree potato in my hand. He happened to be standing next to the sliding glass door and the look on his face was of sheer confusion and terror. This potato flys at him, hits his arm and then hits the sliding glass door so hard the potato explodes in such a fashion I can only describe as fireworks and/or a civil war re-enactment. He only has his wallet in his hand, so he chucks it at me and it hits me on my side. I am pissed. I go back into the oven and proceed to throw the remaining potatoes, these suckers are hitting him, the windows and the walls, potato was everywhere! He's ducking and dodging all sorts of food and other shit, all the while he and I still arguing about which one of us is the bigger asshole. We must have been fighting for like an hour or so because we ran out of ammo and as we're both looking for more shit to throw around all I hear is:
                                             "KNOCK, KNOCK, KNOCK!"
At the door... I'm sure you all can take one guess who that would be. 2 Cops at the door (one guy, one girl) - my terrified neighbor comes out and apologizes for calling them but she was afraid. I told her I was fine and there was nothing to worry about. The cops ask me to have The Ex come to the door, so he gets up and comes up to meet us. At this time, I'm only looking at the cops and my neighbor standing there. Then I noticed a look of bewilderment on each of their faces, I didn't realize what he looked like at that exact moment due to the heated argument. So I turn to him looking for the answer to this puzzled look and I see him covered in potato shrapnel. I could not help myself, I busted out laughing hysterically, no one from then on could keep a straight face... that scene was too ridiculous for anyone to handle. Once the laughter slowed down, the neighbor went back inside and the cops asked that the next time we had the urge to kill each other with produce that we just keep it down.

The Ex and I had nothing left to argue about that night, I finished cooking what was left of dinner, sat on the couch and laughed again as we re-enacted our moves, however I played his role and he played mine. The next morning when we left for work Ted and Mary were waiting patiently to tease me about how produce is a dangerous weapon and I should probably not keep potatoes in my house "in case I get another urge" to try to pummel The Ex.


**The Ex is actually a very sweet, caring guy, who would never do anything to harm me. Although some of my stories may view him in a bad light, I'm no angel (you will soon find out) - that's life. We've had great times, struggles, love, friendship, hard times and I wouldn't trade any of it. He still means a lot to me but unfortunately we were not meant to be anything more than just a few chapters in each others story**

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Start Up

"My First Trip To Vegas" NV
I wanted to start a blog because like most people, I feel like I have an interesting life. I my not be in the circus or travel the world or what-not but everyday I have a new story. Whether it'd be weird, funny, terrible, crazy, scary, or just a plain "WTF?" kind of day. So I've been talking to my friends about all these stories (most of which they are included) and my genius plans for making these events not only memorable but making them last forever... you got it, Internet! These stories will be told without fabrication and to the best of my recollection, in some instances it will have to be pieced together by friends involved. All of you who know me personally, do not be alarmed at this, real names will not be used due to the potential that we would be arrested, sent to AA, or never be allowed back in certain establishments. This is aside from the fact we'd probably lose our jobs.

These stories will also highlight very monumental moments in my life, such as: making the move from NY to Las Vegas, starting over, break ups, family problems, risks I've taken, lessons I've learned, friends and family I've made and lost, all together how I grew into what I am today.

My plan is to fill you all in on everything that has happened up until this point, but I will also have to update my day to day or week to week encounters.

I hope you all enjoy the hilarity of my sometimes pathetic life.

"Risky Business" CA